Never stop learning

Starting mid-November, I have been cross country skiing a lot. It’s a great way to get exercise with my kids. Usually I ski for 1-1.5 hours.

I took a chance and signed up to be a coach’s assistant for youth cross country ski lessons. Lessons meet for an hour 2x/week. I say chance because I’m not the best skier to begin with. (Some of my students are actually better than me.) However, I’ve been practicing a lot and the coaches doesn’t seem to mind me learning along with the kids. I just go to whichever class asks for extra help each day.

Some evenings I have been with the beginners. Most evenings have been with the advanced beginners and once with the intermediate group. I’m not ready to ski with my son’s advanced group yet and did let the coach know that the first night. Mainly I keep the kids from going the wrong way and round up any stragglers. Right now I only have classic style cross country skis. I’m planning to get skate style soon. That will help me be able to participate with groups when they do skate drills and practice. However, then I will really be learning along with the kids since I have never skate skied before.

Leave a Reply

