Dress making

Since I’m doing a lot of just sitting around while my knee is healing, I decided this would be a good time to make a few dresses for me and my daughter. I had been buying them from E-bay. However, I’ve been having trouble finding them in my size lately. Last spring I ordered a cape dress pattern from Candle on the Hill, but hadn’t made one yet.

This weekend I went to visit friends. They are conservative Mennonites with 4 daughters, so she is used to making dresses. She had lots of good tips and advice. Since she has a daughter the same age as mine, it was easy to get a pattern. She also helped me to sew my first cape dress for myself.

Friday we went to JoAnn’s Fabrics to pick out the fabric and other things needed for the dresses. We got enough material to make 2 dresses for my daughter and 1 for me. We made a dress for my daughter first. It was finished Saturday, so she was able to wear it to church Sunday. Unfortunately, we didn’t quite get finished with my dress. It still needs sewn shut below the zipper, and the skirt and sleeves hemmed. That should be fairly easy since the process is still fresh in my mind from making my daughter’s dress. Then I’m going to make the other one for my daughter. I’d like to make at least 2 or 3 dresses for each of us before we leave on our vacation in 2 weeks.

I brought along a few of my favorite cape dresses so we could compare them to the pattern. After much measuring and planning, we decided just to make my dress using the size large of the pattern. The only changes were to the sleeves, which we made shorter and less full. We were able to finish it enough so I could try it on, and it fit great! That will make it easier to sew more dresses instead of worrying about pattern alterations.

1. cut fabric

2. attach bodice front/back at top (attach collar if desired)

3. attach cape front/back at top

4. attach cape to dress

5. gather sleeves

6. attach sleeves

7. close bodice & sleeve sides

8. attach pocket

9. gather skirt

10. attach skirt (add optional elastic or ties to waist)

11. attach zipper

12. sew back closed

13. hem length

14. hem sleeves (add optional elastic at cuffs)

Leave a Reply

