A year later, 7 pounds heavier

Ugh. Down. Up. Down. Up My weight has fluctuated over the same 7 pounds for the past year. 😦 Although I haven’t been following a fad diet, I now know why they call most diets yo-yo diets. My problem is lack of commitment long term. I know I can lose the weight. I’ve done it several times. I just need to stay with my plan long term and not give in to temptation as much.

I have all the tools and knowledge I need. Several of Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet books, a subscription to a fitness magazine, and 4 different exercise DVD programs and on my shelves attest to that. I need to take them off the shelves and put them in my life, permenantly. Not just a few days, weeks or month. No. I need to eat healthy and exercise daily.  That’s the same advice I’ve given countless others, but fail to follow myself. Let’s face it. I’ve become a hypocrite and hate it.

That realization yesterday sparked this post and determination to change (again!). I used to use my job as a fitness instructor to help manage my weight. However, since I quit due to personal reasons last spring, my weight has inched back up. I’m now heavier than ever. I know exercise will help not only lose weight, but also combat the winter blues.

I can already hear the old excuses raising their heads. I’m too tired at night. The house is too cold in the morning (54 yesterday because the fire went out during the night. Its 62 as I type this.) No convenient place to shower since I don’t go to the gym anymore. The kids. An unpredictable schedule. Family wants to watch videos together in the living room.

The good news is that I can fight many of these. Although there’s not much I can do about the morning temperature when fire goes out. We bought a DVD drive for the small laptop so I can exercise in my room while the someone is watching tv in the living room. Lack of shower is nasty but won’t kill me like being overweight will. The kids have started encouraging me to exercise since they know it helps my mood and they are old enough not to get into mischief while I do.

I read recently that of the people who make exercise a New Year’s resolution and actually start a program, only 40% will stick with it until May. That’s a disturbing statistic. I don’t want to be included in that, but fear if I continue as I have this winter that I will be. No more excuses. I’m going to reaffirm my motto: FITNESS- JUST DO IT!

Leave a Reply

