Dear Mormons

With a prayerful heart, God has laid upon me to share and point out these verses for those in non-traditional churches, especially Mormons, JW, and Seventh Day Adventists. These Bible verses are very clear to me AGAINST another prophet or testament in modern times. The last verse points out the deity of Christ as equal to the Father God, something that many of these try to deny.

2 Corinthians 11:3-4 But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ. 4For if he that cometh preacheth another Jesus, whom we have not preached, or if ye receive another spirit, which ye have not received, or another gospel, which ye have not accepted, ye might well bear with him. (bear meaning to put up with, correct or reproach,

Isaiah 30:1 Woe to the rebellious children, saith the LORD, that take counsel, but not of me; and that cover with a covering, but not of my spirit, that they may add sin to sinRevelation 22:18-19 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: 19And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

I was talking to some Mormons about it and they never heard these verses. Most of their preaching was from The Book of Mormon, not the Bible. Nor do they believe in the deity of Christ. John is very clear when Christ says (John 14:9-11) “Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father? 10Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works. 11Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.”
Yet they claim they are still Christians. They claim Smith just restored “lost” books of the Bible, that they aren’t really an additional testament. That doesn’t make sense either since the original texts were in the Middle East not the US central plains. Plus they were in Greek or Latin. I don’t think Smith read or spoke either.
One last thing. Many non-traditional churches emphasize works.  We are saved through grace, not works. We do good works to be pleasing to God, like an obedient child pleases her Father. The only way you can earn your way into Heaven is through acceptance  of Jesus as Savior.Ephesians 2:8-9 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9 Not of works, lest any man should boast.
So I ask you to consider these verses. Get a reputable version (or even two) of the Bible like King James, New American Standard, or even an older NIV. Compare it to what your church uses, especially the New Testament. Where there changes or omissions ask why.
6 Responses

  1. I guess I am an unusual Mormon because I believe I am a Christian and I believe that Christ is part of the Godhead-God the Father, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. I also believe that we are saved by grace but through works our faith in God increases. When we are focused on charitable works we are less tempted to be doing things contrary to God’s commandments. What do you mean by lost books? The apocrypha? I am not a lifelong member. I was baptized as a Catholic as a baby then a born-again Christian as a teenager then as a Mormon in my late twenties. So, I think I have everything covered if only one of these faiths is right. Don’t judge all Mormons by only a few. There are a lot of things in the Church that may seem wrong through Christian eyes but with enough study and prayer you can gain a better understanding. I know because I have worked on trying to gain a better understanding some of the Church’s doctrines throughout the years. I am far from being an expert but I rather have an open mind and try to learn new things in my life. I am familiar with the scripture quotes and if you are interested I can tell you what I believe they are saying. Let me know if you have any questions.

  2. I admit, I’ve had limited contact and theology discussions with Mormons, but from the ones that I’ve met, you are pretty unusual. Keep searching and questioning. I’ll pray for you too.

  3. This may seem strange coming from a Mormon but I have come to believe that God doesn’t really care what church we belong to as long as we recognize Him as our God, Jesus Christ as our Saviour, are humble in spirit, and strive to do good in this world. If you hunger for more knowledge and spiritual growth He will prepare you and show you how to do this. Most people are comfortable with their level of spirituality and growth and will become complacent in their lives, including Christians, Mormons, Jews, Catholics, etc. And this is okay with God. Once in a while He needs to shake things up in someone’s life and brings in trials of faith but only as much as that person can handle. Mormons can be as difficult to deal with as with Christians. I have had arguments on certain topics with other Mormons that have gone no where. So, it is only a matter of what one is willing to accept and believe in one’s life. Just something to think about. When I have time I will read some of your blog posts. I have a coworker who is interested in home schooling his 12 year son and maybe your blog will help him out in his decision. Have a great weekend!

  4. You are right, Jesus doesn’t care what denomination we belong to as long as it aligns with scripture (Bible). Those are man made distinctions. However the problem comes when we start relying solely on our denomination leaders instead of reading and continuing to seek for ourselves. This is where Mormon and JW dogma comes in, as you mentioned in your dead end discussions with other Mormons. Many are no longer actively seeking and instead assume their leaders are always right spiritually and scripturally. So when contradictions arise like the ones I mention, they blindly follow rather than question. May you always seek the Truth.

  5. This month I wrote something about a recent conversation with a couple of JW’s.

  6. I am 48yrs old raised a mormon, went to catholic high school, went to baptist church in my 20’s and early 30’s and have for the last few years studied with JW. When I was 8 or 9 and preparing to be baptized in the mormon church. There are a few things you are required to do and one of them is pray the night before and ask about is this the right church, should I be baptized and a few other things I can’t remember. I went home and I did exactly as instructed and then went to sleep….I still remember a voice coming to me in a dream and I asked my questions and the voice told me that it was not the right religion, but I needed to be baptized. I did as instructed and was baptized the next day. As I got into high school I was sent to catholic school my first year and studied the bible that whole year….later, in my 20’s I studied baptist….I really like the way they worship, very heartfelt and moving. The last couple years thanks to my dear departed mother I have been bible studying with JW, some of the most loving, caring, hard working group of christians that I have met, they supported me and my mother all through her bout with cancer and all through Hawaii, Texas, South Carolina. I believe that the bible was inspired by GOD, I believe Jesus died for our sins, and I believe that I have a personal relationship with him. I believe Love is the greatest commandment, but most of all I believe that I am transformed by God through prayer and supplication. I accept all his reproving and embrace his methods and his teachings. Amen

Leave a Reply

