Fitness update 2011 #5

I gained some weight over the summer, but now I’ve lost most of it. I know yo-yo dieting isn’t good for you, nor all the junk I ate on vacation so both are on the way OUT!

As for my diet, I must stop eating junk. I know it can be hard. I was addicted to junk for a long time. My brother still is and was recently diagnosed type 2 diabetes because of poor diet. That was a real wake up call for me as to the importance of eating right if you want to stay healthy.

I recently read the book The Eat Clean Diet Recharged by Tosca Reno. It tells how to use healthy eating to get healthy and obtain your goal weight. It’s easy to read and understand. She was once overweight too so she’s writing from experience, not just theory like a lot of diet books. It’s not a fad diet, but a healthy eating plan you can follow safely for the rest of your life.

Several of the ideas in the book are things I’ve talked about before on this blog. Cut out sweet, fried, processed, fast, and junk foods. Switch to whole grains for things like pasta, rice, cereal, and breads as well as reduce their portion size. Have lots of fresh fruits and veggies. Divide your plate into quarters. First fill half with fruits and veggies. The other quarters are for the lean protein and whole grain or other healthy carb like sweet potato. Drink just water or plain tea. If you like juice, have the whole fruit instead. That will give you fiber and save you a lot of calories.

So, following the ideas in the book, I’ve lost 3 pounds this week without starving myself or even being hungry. Amazing huh? My family and I have more energy. The kids are better behaved. The only drawback is that I’m now COLD! I’ve started wearing a sweater in the house even though the temperature is the same (65 degrees). However, I’ll gladly put on a sweater if it means taking off fat.

I’m considering a spin-off blog devoted to just fitness. That would allow this blog (AK Homeschool Fun) to go back to being my homeschool and personal blog. I’ll still have these occasional fitness updates, but the bulk of my fitness thoughts would be posted on the new site. What do you think of this idea?

Leave a Reply

