Fitness update 2011 #3

Great news: I’m finally at 165! This was supposed to be my weight goal for last month, perhaps even January. Still, better late than never. At least the scale is going down instead of hovering 167-170. It seemed to take forever to get under 166, but I made it.

Part of the reason it has taken so long is that I have not been at all consistent about working out other than teaching my water aerobics class twice a week. For one reason or another, it seems as if things always get in the way of my exercise plans. First was court. It was supposed to be a 1 day trial. Most of this sort take only a few hours at the most. However, this one has dragged on 3 days over as many weeks and we still aren’t done yet. The judge reluctantly agreed to continue one more day next week. Ugh! Then we had the flu. Then mid-terms. Next week is finals, then I’m off until October. I’ve started week 1 of Turbo Fire several times, but only got through it once. Still, I’m not throwing in the towel.

We’re starting to get up earlier to get our hours ready for vacation to Florida, which is 4 hours ahead of us. Day before yesterday I used that “extra” morning time to do a workout. That seemed to be a good time. Hopefully, I can keep it up. The workout was Fire 45 (can’t remember if it was the EZ or not). It was a lot of fun. I didn’t do the New to Class ( only had 45 minutes), but was able to keep up on all but one part. Since they do each part several times, I was able to pick it up so by the last time I was fine. I swam with the kids last night and hope to get in a Turbo Fire workout this afternoon during a study break.

A few things I am doing with my diet are helping. First, we enjoy tuna sandwiches, coleslaw, and other things made with lots of mayo. However, I discovered that replacing between a third and half of the mayo with plain yogurt still tastes the same but is fewer calories, even using whole milk yogurt. Mayo has 90 calories per tablespoon. The yogurt I use (Nancy’s Honey Yogurt with whole milk) has just 10.5 calories per tablespoon. Quite a big difference.

I have been building my meals around the veggie, not the meat and starch. For instance, last night was backed chicken, steamed carrots and baked beans. I shared a chicken breast with my daughter and had just one scoop of the beans. The bulk of my plate was filled with steamed carrots. I could barely finish it all. Yes. I get hungry a bit sooner, but then have a small healthy snack like fruit or small handful of nuts. I also stopped unhealthy snacking at night. That was a biggie for me. The kids still have their bedtime snack, but I no longer snack along with them unless it’s fruit.

So, you can see that small changes can and do add up to real change. You don’t have to change everything at once. Start with small substitutions like fruit for snacks or using “yonaise” (yogurt and mayo mixed). Then get moving! Studies have consistently shown that diet and exercise together are more effective for lasting change than either is alone.

Leave a Reply

