Fitness update 2011 #1; Light the Fire!

My fitness goals changed a little last year. I started in September to teach water fitness classes at the Alaska Club up here. I love the idea that I get paid to exercise. However, I’m up on deck in a swim suit twice a week. I really need to get in better shape for my class. Regular cardio wan’t doing it very well, so I decided on Turbo Fire. If yesterday’s workout and how I feel today are any indication, it’s going to be just what I need.

I just started Turbo Fire yesterday. It’s the latest home fitness program with Chalene Johnson from Beach Body. Wow! It’s unlike any exercise program I’ve ever done before. The routine was 30 minutes, but whew. I was sweating, heart pumping, muscles going just about the entire time. I didn’t finish it (had to get ready for kid’s friend birthday party after 20 minutes). Even so, I’m feeling it today all around my core, back, glutes. As well as a little in my arms (mostly triceps, which is a good thing) and legs. I plan to repeat the routine today so I can do the entire thing. The workouts are shorter than traditional cardio, but much more intense.

I’ve been chatting with another woman who recently started Turbo Fire. She lost 4 pounds and 4 inches last week! You don’t diet with this program, it’s too intense for that. You eat very healthy and pay attention to portion control. You need to eat to fuel the Fire.

I’m impressed with the nutrition guide that came with the program. It has a lot of things that I’ve been doing already. Plus, she doesn’t have you overloading on protein like a lot of new exercise programs do lately. You eat 3 medium size meals and 2 healthy small snacks like fruit, veggies, or nuts. You divide your plate for meals like I’ve been doing with half for veggies, quarter for whole grain carb, and quarter for the lean protein. Believe it or not, you actually get full faster like this because of the fiber in the veggies, yet you have fewer calories than building the meal around the meat or carb like typical American meals with a few veggies on the side.

Leave a Reply

