Back to basics for 2011

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2011!!!

I’m going back to basics in 2011. Simple living priorities like family time, eating healthy, and exercising daily are tops.

I’ve started losing weight again and want to keep that going. From 4-5pm each day except days I teach at the gym, I’ve set aside as my exercise time. Too many things were getting in the way, so it needs a higher priority again. I’m going to start with the Turbo Jam I have, but am considering other Beach Body programs. We’ll see how well I can stick to the time schedule first. I also will be staying at the gym on days I teach to do some strength training after class. There’s some great routines from Oxygen magazine that I want to try.

We’ve been eating too much junk lately. Not so much fast food, but junk in general. That’s got to stop! Here’s how. When shopping consider an 80/20 principle. 80 percent of the food should have no label like from the produce section or be whole foods like fresh lean meats, eggs, rice, dry beans, and oatmeal. Bagged veggies (frozen or fresh) without sauce count here as well, but not canned The other 20 should be healthy things with labels like whole grain pasta, cereal, and bread; natural cheese; low sodium spaghetti sauces; and dairy. Avoid heavily processed foods. You’ll do most of your shopping from the outer aisles.

Breakfast has been cereals, mostly sweets, recently. Starting tomorrow, we will have oatmeal with fruit and milk again. Sweet was fun on vacation, but now it’s time to get back to a fit family so we don’t become a fatter family. My lunch will be a salad with spinach, fresh veggies, (also chopped turkey or egg?) with a piece of homemade multi-grain bread for lunch.  I’ll be dividing my dinner plate into quarters. First fill half with fruits and veggies, The other quarters are for the lean protein and whole grain carb. This will help limit calories and ensure I get plenty of fruits and veggies. If I’m hungry between meals, snacks will be healthy like fruits and veggies. Tomorrow is shopping day, so I’ll be replacing the junk with healthy alternatives (see above).

It still amazes me sometimes, with all our high tech gadgets and time saving things, how most of the healthiest lifestyle choices are still the oldest and least complicated. Things like eating healthy real foods, getting daily exercise. Taking time to relax. So even though I don’t have a very high tech life, I’m going to drop back even more and return to basic health. Hopefully this will help me to lose the 45 or so pounds I need to.

4 Responses

  1. Just wanted to say Happy New Year to you! So true, basics are still what work best.
    Anna

  2. Anna,
    Thanks! Happy New Year to you too.

  3. What good, sensible advice! We’ve switched back to a similar eating plan ourselves. We were living with a friend for a year, and ended up with her not-so-sensible eating habits! Now I’ve got about 20 pounds to take off.

  4. Magdalena,
    It’s hard living with friends long-term sometimes. Now we just need to put the plan into action. Have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

