Officially an instructor

I’m officially a water fitness instructor. My certificate came in the mail while I was on vacation. Plus, I got a job at my gym as a substitute!  They want me to attend several of the classes so I can get a feel for how the classes normally are led.

I’m also supposed to put together a 4 song demonstration “class” which I will then teach to the other instructors. I’m a bit nervous about that. They will be critiquing me. I’m sure it’s for my own good and to make sure I don’t make a fool of myself on deck, but still nerve wracking. My orientation is in 2 weeks and I told them I’d have it ready about then. I don’t have much dancy music. I think I will use some Enya and some Fleetwood Mac. It’s supposed to be the segment following a warm up so it’s not the peak of the workout yet. I like them because they have a strong beat to cue off. I was told that would be one big thing I would be judged on as well as transitions between movements.

After I do orientation and my demo, I get to team teach with the other instructors. They have all been very supportive and encouraging. I will actually be getting paid to exercise. How cool is that! Granted there’s a lot more to leading a fitness class than just dong the exercises, but still, I’m excited.

3 Responses

  1. Officially an instructor…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. Congratulations to you! What a great accomplishment and great way to inspire others! Good luck on your evaluation, your so motivated that you will do well.
    Anna

  3. Anna,
    Thanks. I’ve put together one very short song (slightly less than 2 minutes) based upon some of the Slim in 6 segments where she does Pliea (sp?) and some hamstring curls. So 2 minutes down, 13 to go.

Leave a Reply

