Water fitness training

I’m back from Anchorage. I went down there for water fitness instructor training and certification. After driving the 350 miles from Fairbanks to Anchorage, I was pretty tired when I got to the hotel. Still, I went across the road to a cafe to study for a few hours. There was a strong room freshener scent in my room so I left the window open. It still stank when I got back. I opened the curtain to let more air in, but by 2am I still wasn’t sleeping and starting to get choked up so I asked for another room. Luckily they had one. I got up at 6, which gave me less than 4 hours sleep. Boy did that make for an intense day.

Friday started off by my getting lost for 20 minutes because of construction and one-way roads. I made it to the Alaska Club on time though. We started off with 3 hours of lecture. Then a 10 minute break, followed by 2 more hours lecture. There was an hour for lunch and getting changed into our swimsuits before a 2 hour pool session.  After that was another hour lecture.

Finally, the test started at 330. It was 100 questions. At that point, I felt more like a nap than a test. I almost fell asleep while taking it. Still, I managed to get through it. We find out our results in a few weeks. I’m not sure how I did. The woman seated next to me for the lecture I think studied less than I did because she kept calling out the wrong answers, which only confused me. She wound up next to me in the pool too (at first) and was doing the wrong movement. Then a Bible passage popped into my head, Deuteronomy 17:10-11.

10And thou shalt do according to the sentence, which they of that place which the LORD shall choose shall shew thee; and thou shalt observe to do according to all that they inform thee:

11According to the sentence of the law which they shall teach thee, and according to the judgment which they shall tell thee, thou shalt do: thou shalt not decline from the sentence which they shall shew thee, to the right hand, nor to the left.

After that, I ignored her and everyone else and just pretended I was the only one in the class. That helped. Afterall, I was the only one who could take my test. They couldn’t take it for me. Either I knew the answers or not. The instructor actually smiled at me once because I was one of the few who had the correct position.

Well, the test was grueling. We had to link movement type, plane of movement and muscle moved. There were several very detailed questions about other parts of the book too. I studied more generally. The test questions didn’t match the study objectives that gave very well. When I got back to my hotel I looked up some areas I wasn’t sure about. Some I got wrong, but others I changed to the correct answer. There was one question, I couldn’t find anywhere in the book. I just will have to wait and see how I did. You only need 68 to pass.

I still need to do CPR training before I’ll be officially certified. That’s easy. The water instructor training is only once a year, but CPR is every month or so. I did it about 10 years ago, so I have some idea what that will be like.

Boy did that make for an intense day.
2 Responses

  1. While we are dealing with items within the vicinity of Water fitness training AK Homeschool Fun, Healthy eating is not about strict nutrition philosophies, staying unrealistically thin, or depriving yourself of the foods you love. Rather, it’s about feeling great, having more energy, and keeping yourself as healthy as possible.

  2. Well put. This is exactly what I tell my class.

Leave a Reply

