Some of my favorite Christian music

I like mostly hymns in church, such as the one I’m going to start off with ARE YOU WASHED IN THE BLOOD. Sung here by the Antrim Mennonite Choir. It’s a great invitational song. I was part of a group of about 300 Mennonites that sang this song together outside without instruments 3 years ago. Amazing!

However, there are some contemporary Christian songs I enjoy that I learned in college. They are now available on youtube. I thought I’d share them with you. When possible, I’ll try to find videos that have the lyrics.

The first (ok, second) song is AWESOME GOD. This is an awesome song that doesn’t need much accompaniment. I learned this song first with just an acoustical guitar. The words are the powerful part. I’ve sung it with hundreds as well as small groups. My friends and I sometimes went around campus singing this as loud as we could. It was so much fun. I love the pulse of this slower song and was often song leader for it at church (even though I’m not a particularly great singer, I’m just so enthusiastic about this song). There are 2 versions on youtube that I really like. The first gives a great group feel. (however the video is rather graphic in places, singing starts about 1 minute in).    The second version has more contemporary feel. The words are on the screen. both have sections where the instruments stop and the group just sings/chants, which is great! That’s just what this song is supposed to do. Very inspiring song. Very simple, but powerful.

The next song is LORD I LIFT YOUR NAME ON HIGH. This version has great video which shows the words as well as good singing. I find myself singing this song when I’m blue and cheers me up again. It can be done as a round or echo (male/female) also.

SHINE, JESUS SHINE is another great song for groups. You just have to smile when singing it. It’s great for an opening song. I later learned it on my flute, but prefer to sing it. This version has words and inspiring pictures.

AS THE DEER is a wonderful meditative song, especially if you slow it down even more. I like the comment on this one where someone says they are an atheist, but was touched by this song. Words are in the video.

This is a contemporary video by Kutless of STRONG TOWER. I just like it.

WE FALL DOWN is another song that works well contemporary of more classically. Surprisingly, I actually prefer the contemporary version of this song.

HOLY, HOLY, HOLY is an old but beautiful song. Here’s the traditional version. I also found a version (including words) sung by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir which, while still beautiful, is quite different and gives some insight into how their traditions are different from mainstream Christianity.

EL SHADDAI is a great song solo, here by Amy Grant. We used to start with a solo then slowly add singers until the whole group was singing. For some reason this song makes me want to cry. It’s another powerful song.

THY WORD was another song we used to sing around campus, usually in larger groups. Here’s a group arrangement with Maranatha Singers. Talks about the importance of the Bible to daily life.

Another song I want to share, I never heard before I found it on youtube, but I think they did a amazing job with it. The video is a bit shaky, but is still good. From what I’ve read, this took place at the home of one of the choir members after a performance. It’s YE SHALL HAVE A SONG.

ROCK OF AGES is a song I have on CD sung  A Capella by the Antrim Mennonite Choir. I just had to sneak another old (1775) hymn in here. We sing this song, and others like it at my new church. Wow! There’s something very moving and personal when you don’t have instruments and everyone must work together to make a glorious sound to the Lord. (search youtube for Antrim Mennonite Choir to hear more wonderful old hymns)

That’s all for now. It’s late. Off to bed. God Bless and keep you. I’ll leave you with one of my son’s favorites, GOD BE WITH YOU TILL WE MEET AGAIN.

Leave a Reply

