Secret health fantasy

A lot of women and men have secret fantasy about their bodies. They want to be more slim, pretty, fashionable. Most will use makeup, yo-yo dieting, and spurts of exercise to temporarily achieve their goal. Some will go to extreme measures to obtain it through surgery.

My fantasy is that I want to be fit. Not necessarily slim, but trim and fit. I want to be strong. I know this will take effort and hard work. I don’t want short cuts that are dead ends. There is no such thing as fitness in a bottle.

While I was slim in high school and college, I wasn’t really strong. Now, I’m strong, but not slim. Hrmph! I don’t want a body builder’s physique, but I want to be visibly toned. I want people to say “there goes a healthy woman” when they see me. Instead, my muscles are hidden under fat.

I also want to be able to run. I admire people who run. I’ve never been able to run. I can for walk miles and miles, but running always makes me short on breath after just a short time. However, in college PE I was able to increase the time I could run before getting short of breath. So I know this is an achievable goal given time.

Both of these goals, being fit and running, are related. They both involve dedication and perseverance. It’s one thing to secretly want something, but quite another to be willing to work until you actually achieve your goal. It involves planning, sacrifice, and long term commitment. Most people will only achieve short-term, temporary results because they haven’t changed their underlying lifestyle that led them to where they are. I don’t want to fall into this trap.

Now, I said this was a secret fantasy. Secrecy is part of it’s strength. If no one knows your fantasy goal, no one can ridicule you if you fail. It’s a safety blanket for avoiding possible embarrassment. I’ve told a few people I want to get fit, but mostly it’s just in my head. Secret fantasies aren’t healthy though, because they don’t hold you accountable. You need to let others know your goal so they can help you get there.

If you don’t want to let others know your true goal, make mini-goals. This is a good idea anyway as each mini-goal achieved will inspire you to continue toward the total goal. They will help keep you motivated and committed after the initial enthusiasm of starting a fitness routine wears off. This is where I’m at right now. It’s tough, especially since I was injured and had to take time off.

This is why I’m enjoying Turbo Jam so much. It is an exercise routine I can stick with and get real results. There’s a large variety of videos with different lengths and focus (strength, cardio, endurance) so I can find whatever I’m in the mood for. It’s helping me tone up and slim down (at least it was before the car crash). It’s helped improve my balance, coordination, and endurance. I have gained self confidence to start the Couch to 5K beginning running program once spring hits (I refuse to try to run when it’s icy or below zero).

Keeping secrets is never a good idea. So if you too have a secret fitness fantasy about yourself, share it, even if it’s just anonymously online. Set a series of short term goals and make plans to achieve them. Keep in mind the goals, plans, or even both may change with time (as mine have since the accident), but that’s ok as long as you’re making progress.

My new plan is to ease back into exercising again then keep doing Turbo Jam for the next few months. If I’m consistent, perhaps after that, I’ll order ChaLEAN Extreme to help tone up (those Beach Body coaches out there who have offered to help me, I’ll probably be taking you up on it then). I still have hopes of running a marathon this summer which has been another of my secret health fantasies.

Finally, find others who can help support and motivate you to turn that fantasy into reality. I did it once when I rode my bicycle from Alaska to Seattle. It was a lot of work, but worth it in the end. Now, I’m hoping to do it again to get fit and run a marathon.

4 Responses

  1. So well put!! What great goals you have and yes by putting them out there makes you accountable. That should push you even more to reach your goals. Keep posting, that is what I do and it keeps me going!!

  2. Anna,
    Thanks. I’ve been frustrated since the accident but I’m feeling better. Today I’m sick 😦 Oh well. It gave me time to think and write this post.

    Have you done Chalean Extreme? I’d be interested to hear about it if you have since that’s what I’m considering. I can’t find many real reviews other than links to the ads and BeachBody PR.

  3. Muscle has memory. It takes a lot less time to get back to where you were than it took it get there in the first place. I’ve had to give up regular fitness exercise becaus eof my husband’s continuing care, but I know that when I start lifting weights and running again, it will take just a few weeks to get back into shape. So don’t let that accident depress you. You will get back what you gained in very little time. As for the marathon – it’s a fanasyof mine, too – but it will have to be a cross-country marathon, because I can no longer run on pavements. So maybe it will have to be like the very first “marathon.”

  4. Magdelena,
    You’re right. I’m more frustrated than depressed. This one is primarily cross country which is what appeals to me. I like trails. I’m nervous about the distance and the fact it goes up 2000 feet then back. Have you considered in-home fitness routines or videos you can fit around his care or is caring for him enough “exercise”? I know when my dad was taking care of mom, he did several lifts and transfers each day.

Leave a Reply

