Alcohol + Guns = idiocy

I did not have a good weekend and am still dealing with the aftermath of someone else’s poor decision. We were just getting ready to sit down to a relaxing dinner Saturday evening when a tenant called saying someone had fired a bullet into her apartment. A few minutes later she called back saying the police needed into her apartment but she locked herself out when she fled.

Ok. I went down. It took me about 15 minutes to get there. However, by the time I arrived the police had already broken in not only her door, but 2 others as well. Ugh. The bullet went from above, through her ceiling and embedded into her floor. So, I’m now the proud owner of 2 apartments with bullet holes as well as 3 broken entry doors.

Why do I get this wonderful honor? Because a guest of another tenant got drunk and went for a gun. Not sure why he did it, but the end result is the same. Now I’m trying to find contractors to fix it in a hurry with little luck. The shooter is in jail, but that doesn’t help fix the problems he caused.

Also, dealing with the city for reimbursement isn’t easy either. The doors were quality steel doors. The city wants to replace them with cheap box store doors. They may pay for it, but even if they don’t we still have to fix it. Three new doors (with locks and installation) as well as repairing the ceiling and floors isn’t cheap and we just don’t have that much pocket change lying around. We’re having hard enough time paying our regular bills this month. Needless to say it’s been a frustrating few days.

Anyone care to donate to a repair fund?

6 Responses

  1. I wish I could right now! But try Habitat for Humanity Re-Store, and ask your church or the Seventh-Day Adventists, who often run emergency supply warehouses, if they can help. Your math formula is so correct! We had a similar incident years ago in the building where I lived with my two little boys; it wasn’t long before I headed back home!

  2. Magdelena,
    Thanks. One of the worst things is they printed the address in the newspaper and we’re trying to rent a vacancy in that building.

  3. How frustrating! These kind of things we have to offer up to the Lord, and trust that he will provide. Thank heavens there was only property damage, it would have been way worse if anyone had been injured, or heaven forbid been killed.

  4. Martine,
    Very lucky. The police weren’t sure if the bullet went through the middle floor or not. When they knocked downstairs the tv was on but no one answered so they broke in. No one was home. Better safe than sorry but I’m still left with a broken door. You’re right, it could have been much worse.

    I’ve given it up to the Lord, then pushed play on my exercise video. A good workout helps relieve stress too.

  5. Good for you! I knew you wouldn’t be done for very long, you seem to take a very logical approach to life and it serves you well.

  6. Martine,
    🙂 I can’t help it. If my brother or I made a stupid decision growing up my dad would say “think man, think!”. That was worse than the punishment (almost).

Leave a Reply

