Fitness update 2010 #1

Welcome 2010! This is the first fitness update of the new year, and I have good things to share.

There’s a lot of blogs out there that had New Year’s resolutions to lose weight. They had lots of energy and a plan. Sadly, many of them are already making excuses why they aren’t exercising or eating properly. This is not one of them! I’m still on track. A bit of a bump yesterday, but back at it today.

Over the holidays, I gained some of the weight back that I’d lost. However, I didn’t gain as much as feared. I was up to 166 again. The good news is that as of yesterday, I was back down to 164.5.

I’ve been exercising. On Wednesday, I did almost 2 hours worth. In the morning I did a 45 minute Turbo Jam. Then in the evening I was able to go to water aerobics group. I was a little sore yesterday, but not too bad.

Now for the bump yesterday that I mentioned. We’re having a difficult situation with an ex employee which is causing a lot of stress for both my husband and me. Yesterday, my husband came home very upset and wanted to eat out. So we did. Today he realized that was a totally emotion caused episode and agreed we shouldn’t do that again. Also, we had several unexpected errands after dinner so I wasn’t able to get in a workout. Combine the overeating from eating out with stress and no exercise for a bad night’s sleep last night.

Psalm 118:24 “This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” keeps popping into my head today every time I start dwelling on my problems. I get the hint! It’s actually rather funny. I literally, can’t think of my troubles for more than a minute before this verse plays like a song in my head interrupting my thoughts. When I start thinking of other things, it quits. When I start to dwell on my troubles again, it comes back. Isn’t the Lord wonderful?

So today I shared a sandwich at lunch with my daughter and as soon as things calm down a little with the phone, I’m going to do a Turbo Jam this afternoon. A bad day yesterday doesn’t have to spill over to make today bad too unless I let it.

Since I’ve started exercising more, I’ve had less cravings for carbs and junk. Instead I’m wanting healthy stuff like salad, fruits, and veggies. Unfortunately, we are running out of them but have plenty of carbs. I’m hoping that after paying the bills this month, there’ll be enough left over for a decent grocery run for produce.

I hope this first week of 2010 was good to you and that you haven’t started making excuses. If you have, then get back to work and don’t give up. Delayed starting is better than never starting.

Leave a Reply

