Natural eating

I’ve been reading blogs lately about healthy eating. Most are like me, trying to eat a balanced diet with less processed junk and more homemade with fruits and veggies. A few are vegetarians. I don’t mind most of these as they seem pretty balanced with real food. Then there’s the eco-vegans.

Those are different. Some of them are completely unbalanced. No, not mentally, but diet wise. It’s not the vegan diet itself. Vegan is not only no meat but also no animal products like dairy and eggs. They have all organic foods and rail against processed foods. On the surface that sounds fine.

However, I’m not sure what they seem to be eating could be real food either. From what I’ve seen, it’s mostly just a different form of processed food. Bags of organic, baked sweet potato crisps (instead of potato chips). Luna bars. Amy’s makes an entire line of organic, vegetarian convenience foods.

I don’t have anything against organic. I prefer it for some of the foods I buy. Nor do I have anything against vegetarian. We eat vegetarian more frequently than meat based meals. What I do have a problem with is packaging processed veggies as health foods with a fancy label. They are still TV dinners, just with a vegan twist. I’m all for more healthy substitutions, but I don’t know what many of these people would do if they had to really cook for themselves from scratch.

It isn’t cheap either. I have bought a few of them myself. They are pretty good, but I don’t think they are worth the extra cost. Nor should they be the primary staple of your diet.

My view is unless it’s homemade, it’s processed food. If you can cook it totally in the microwave, it’s probably processed food. I’m not saying to eat raw foods only, however they should be a primary ingredient. Pre-made sauces like spaghetti sauce, save time but are still semi-processed. Don’t buy into the hype that just because a package is labeled organic or vegan, it’s not processed food.

So call a spade a spade and admit you’re eating processed food. Granted, it’s probably more healthy than traditional processed foods, but it’s still processed food. Don’t rely on a box, can, or package for most of your meals. Learn to cook real food. Make 2010 the year you really go natural.

3 Responses

  1. I completely agree! In my opinion, the best diet is a balanced, unprocessed, vegan one. The macrobiotic diet includes a variety of unprocessed foods with an emphasis on balancing acidity and alkalinity portions. In addition, tofu and other protein sources are available instead of meat for a healthy vegan diet. Avoiding meet eliminates animal cruelty and reduces carbon emissions. Committing to this diet takes dedication but can be incredibly healthy and satisfying.

  2. VeganByProxy,
    Thanks. This current trend of processed “health” foods is absurd. I also have a concern about too much tofu and other soy products in a diet. Some of them are very unhealthy since they aren’t really complete soy, but rather the leftovers from other processing. Traditional protein matches with whole foods like beans and rice is better and more complete. I guess what I’m trying to say is a back-to-basics, whole food diet with limited meat and processed ingredients is best, even before the other concerns you mentioned with the typical American diet.

  3. Amy’s is very allergy unfriendly. Also it tends to be higher in sodium than regular frozen foods.

Leave a Reply

