Modest gym clothes

Just about all my life I’ve been embarrassed by gym clothes, both wearing them and seeing others wear them. When I was young, I was embarrassed because I was so small for my age. They had to special order smaller uniforms for me. Now, I’m overweight. Nothing seems to fit quite right. Either it’s tight in all the wrong places or way too loose.

There seems to be primarily two types of gym clothes: those to hide and those to show off your body. It’s hard to find something in between. I want something modestly covering but not in the way of exercising by being too tight or loose. And believe it or not, it is possible to be completely covered yet totally immodest if you look melted and poured into your clothes. Comfort is also a must. So what’s a body to do?

Don’t try serious exercising in sweats, especially cardio, unless you need the added warmth. They are called sweats for a reason! It only took one workout for me to figure that out.

I first started exercising wearing my old stand by of loose cotton shorts and t-shirts. Comfort all the way, but not as practical as some of the new workout clothes. After arguing with myself over the need to spend money on exercise clothes, I decided to start small with bra and shorts or pants since mine were old and no longer fit properly anyway.

This fall I went shopping for new gym pants or shorts. After trying on many pair, I found ones that are perfect. They are made by Danceskin and come just below the knee. There is a small slit to allow better knee movement. They are form fitting but not overly tight. The waist is also up at my waist, which was hard to find since most only came up to the hip, to better show your belly. I can move comfortably in them. They are ultra soft and wick the sweat. They sell them at my gym for twice what I paid at WalMart for the exact same thing so be sure to shop around.

Sport bras have changed a lot from the old tank top style I had in high school. Now you can get different support levels depending on how much impact you will be doing. There’s also many different strap and cup styles for comfort. Wiggle around a bit when trying them on to see if you will get the support you need and still be comfortable. There’s nothing more annoying than trying to exercise in a poorly fit bra.

Your exercise bra shouldn’t be your shirt, no matter how cute it is. Nor should your shirt be another bra over the top. That seems popular in my gym recently. There’s lots of exercise shirt designs that are modest yet won’t cause you to overheat or restrict motion. And by all means, wear an exercise bra! Floppy top is sooo gross.

I guess what I’m trying to say is when it comes to gym wear, be comfortable, but cover up! You probably aren’t as good looking as you think. That may be rude, but true in most instances. And if you are good enough to flaunt it, I still don’t want to see. Leave something to the imagination. With the new styles and fabrics, you don’t have to compromise comfort or modesty when exercising. Properly fitting, modest gym wear on a fit body is more inspirational than a lot of skin.

Oh, and proper shoes are important. However, there is no need to go overboard. Since everyone’s feet and needs are different, I’m not going to say much more about them. In fact, at home doing my exercise videos (Turbo Jam right now) I usually wear just socks on the carpet or even barefoot.

4 Responses

  1. I lot of times I wear a pair of baskeball shorts.

  2. Dee,
    That’s kind of what I had in mind when I went shopping but found these instead.

  3. The Big Guy has some that are shorter and he didn’t want to wear them. They have a draw string so I can tighten them up. They are long on me. I do where shorts but I don’t like them short. Like them around my knees. Used to do that to hide a scar on my knee but it isn’t very visible anymore.

  4. Thanks, that is a very good article. I found it via MSN and immediately incorporated into my feedreader. I am pleased to soon be back here to read again! Best greets

Leave a Reply

