They got shot

My kids got shot today. Don’t worry, it was the H1N1 flu shot. After talking with my husband, we decided to go ahead and get the kids vaccinated. Today was one of three clinics for kids and high risk adults. We had the option of the live nasal spray or the deadened shot. I let the kids decide since they were the ones who it would be given to. The nurse said both forms had the same recovery time and immune response. They both chose a shot.

We generally aren’t on the edge of medical advances. It’s best to wait and see how effective new treatments are. However, enough of these shots have now been given that we felt it was safe. We do not believe conspiracy theories that this is simply a government plan to help drug companies make money or that it’s not actually flu vaccine but something else in the shots. Also, the countries where mass vaccine has been administered have seen a dramatic drop in cases of H1N1.

While you may not get deadly sick from this flu, if you have the shot, you are helping to stop the spread by giving the virus one less place to live. If enough immune people are in place, the flu will have no where to go and therefore die off. Not only do I not want to get sick but I don’t want others to either. Also, unlike seasonal flu vaccines, this is specific to the H1N1 virus which is already prevalent. Seasonal flu vaccine is a guess as to which flu virus will be the most prevalent and therefore not always effective which is why we usually don’t get them.

I got flu in late January 1984 when I was a child. This was another nasty flu outbreak with over 57,000 deaths. I was very sick for 6 weeks including pneumonia. My mom got it from me and had to be in the hospital.

Today’s clinic was put on by the local public health center and the school district. Kids under 10 need to have a booster shot in 3 weeks. That’s the bad part. So far, no follow up clinics have been scheduled. Perhaps they are waiting to see how many will be needed.

4 Responses

  1. The Big Guy got the flu shot. I stopped getting them after having serious reactions every time I got a flu shot.

    I read in the local paper that the nasal spray poses some risks for those around the vaccinated person who have not been vaccinated. It seems that there is live virus in both but in the nasal spray it can be exhaled into the air.

  2. Dee,
    You’re right. The health nurse said the nasal spray was “weakened live virus”. That is a little concerning. Since it’s sprayed up the nose, I suppose you could sneeze some out onto things and people around you. It just goes to show the importance of hand washing and not sneezing into your hands. The shot is dead. The kids just didn’t like the idea of something sprayed up their noses. I can’t say I blame them.

    I’ve only had flu shot twice. The second time I had a reaction. I think they hit a nerve because I still occasionally have twinging in my shoulder where it went in. That was over 2 years ago.

  3. akhomeschooling and Dee, you are both right. The nasal spray is a live virus and you can give it to others, especially those who are suspectible to catching things a bit easier (the very young, older generation, immuno-compromised people, etc).

    We don’t vaccinate anymore for very personal reasons (not religious, due to a serious reaction our older son had that has life long effects – sigh), but I am all for each family making that decision for themselves. I am glad you guys decided to do what you felt was best.

    This is my first post here. Even though we don’t agree on everything (vaccines, Obama, etc), we agree on the bigger issues and I am very interested in many of your ideas you have put out there on your blog. I am eager to read more.

  4. Katy,
    Welcome. I added your blog to your comment for you. Glad you’re enjoying my posts.

Leave a Reply

