Fitness update 2009 #15, A full pantry

This weekend we went grocery shopping. No big deal you say? Wrong! We haven’t been grocery shopping since August except quick trips now and then as we fancied something we wanted to eat. As a result, our pantry was pretty bare. Also, we wanted to get enough food to last until December. Like many other Alaskans we were waiting for our state dividends to be deposited on Thursday. So off we went to Sam’s Club on Sunday with a huge shopping list.

Whew! When we finally finished filling our 2 carts, we were $550 poorer. Not bad considering that was most of the food for 4 people for 7 weeks. I was surprised with how well we stuck to our grocery list. There weren’t many things we’d forgotten to put on it or extra goodies we added (although I realized later there were a few things we need that never made it to the list). We also needed some things from the grocery store for about another $100. Then we only need to make weekly trips for fresh stuff.

Now that my pantry is full again, we can stop eating out. Things were pretty hectic the past few weeks, so we were eating out a lot rather than coming home to eat then going back to town. As a result, we gained a fair amount of weight. We haven’t met our weight goals for 3 months. Ugh. Definitely, time to make homemade meals again.

Food has a huge influence on my son’s behavior. The better we eat, the better he behaves. The more junk and processed foods he eats, the worse his behavior. He was getting rather unmanageable. Now that we have a full pantry again, I have been cooking all homemade meals. He has been a bit extra testy this week as he gets all the junk out of his system from eating out. So far today it’s almost 230 and he’s done 3 assignments and lost his other 2 workbooks. Considering he stayed up until almost midnight because he couldn’t get to sleep last night, I’m trying to be patient. Tomorrow is Friday and each day his behavior improves overall.

As for me, I have been sticking to the No-S Diet eating plan. No snacks, no sweets, no seconds. I haven’t stepped on the scale so I don’t know what my current weight is. What I do know is that my dresses are getting rather tight and I can’t zip the smallest 2. Instead of snacks, I’ve been drinking herbal teas. Ok, I did cheat yesterday with a big peanut butter cookie, but it was dinner time and I still had an hour of work and a headache from not eating. After all the eating out recently, I’ve been rather hungry. That’s good though.

I’ve been looking forward to cooking again. It was getting frustrating trying to make a meal worrying if I have all the ingredients. Not that we eat fancy, but there was only about 6 cups of flour left and 1 meal of spaghetti but no sauce. It’s so nice to have a full pantry.

UPDATE 10/16/09

I got brave this morning and stepped onto the scale. Grrr. Well, at least I know the truth. My weight is back up to 164. That’s what I weighed 6 months ago. Ugh. At least I’m not where I was a year ago. It’s always amazing how easy it is to gain weight, but hard to loose it and keep it off.

6 Responses

  1. The No-S Diet sounds like a tough one, LOL. But it would probably work. Think I’ll give it a try. ~Liz

  2. Liz,
    Actually it’s easy. Will power to stick with it (especially early on if you’re used to eating sweets, snacks and unlimited portions) is the hard part, but that’s true of any diet. And it’s not really a diet because other than sweets, you’re not limited in what you can eat, just how much. It’s more like a sensible eating plan. For that reason, you can stick with it for the rest of your life with no ill effects, unlike many traditional deprivation diets. No gimmicks, special meals, counting calories, points, or anything else. Come back and let me know how it’s going for you later.

  3. I totally agree with the no-s way of eating. It is certainly sustainable, and it is what I have been trying to do for the past few weeks. I have found that planning meals out ahead of time is great for staying on track, plus i also have some planned snacks such as fruit and granola bars.
    Happy cooking!

  4. 20 Something,
    Great! Planning is essential to sustainable weight loss. When I stray away from my plans, I tend to over eat and thus gain weight.

  5. Great article, thank you. I am very interested in finding a diet that lowers my sugar intake. I currently have a sweet-tooth, and am finding it difficult to find meal plans, what to eat for snacks, etc. While diabetes is not something that runs in my family, I am still concerned and would like to be smart and take a proactive approach to my health.

  6. Margaret,
    It’s wonderful that your concerned over eating healthy. Try the NO S Diet. It’s pretty basic eating plan. While you can have any other foods you want, you only get sweets 2 times a week. It also teaches healthy portion size since you can’t have seconds. Sweets are a big problem for a lot of people because it’s so easy and cheap to buy them. Limiting sugar (including corn syrup and artificial sweeteners) is a good start to healthy eating. However other additives are equally concerning. It’s amazing how many additives are in common products. I’ve noticed dairy products have been putting in more and more additives so I started reading labels carefully. I recently switched cottage cheese to an organic brand because it was the only one without additives.

Leave a Reply

