Changing churches

I have definitely decided to switch churches. I will now be attending Northern Lights Church of Christ. This is a non-denominational church (not affiliated with the United Church of Christ) in downtown Fairbanks.

I went to the old one again Sunday morning and it was as I feared. The message, while Biblical, was shallow and general without much depth. It covered a fairly large portion which should have been covered verse by verse in detail. Instead it was broad and generalized as a group. It was an important group of scripture too, Colossians 3:1-17.

Also, something else happened which felt like God was gently shutting the door behind me on my decision to switch to another church.
It didn’t feel like a slam. It wasn’t anything terrible. My favorite assistant pastor resigned for personal reasons. I really liked him and respected his decisions. I don’t know who or when someone will be appointed to fill his position, but with 2 out of 3 pastors different from when I started attending this church, I don’t know what direction it will be taking. I don’t want to drift along anymore.

I spoke to my family the past few weeks about possibly changing churches. Surprisingly, they didn’t have any objections. I was expecting my kids to say they would miss their friends, teachers, or special activities, but they didn’t. In fact, they were very supportive. Here are the kids reasons for liking the new church:

They stay with my the entire service.

They sing hymns and more songs (the old church sang more after the kids went to another room)

They have evening services so we aren’t rushed in the morning.

The kids have been asking when they can go to church again which is something they rarely do.

Leave a Reply

