Revelation comments

This morning I finished reading the final book in the New Testament, Revelation. My dad always made me promise never to read Revelation at night. He was afraid it would give me nightmares. So, I’ve never read it at all until today.

Revelation is different from other books of the Bible. They don’t tell a history. It’s not a human story. John is given a vision of end times and it isn’t pretty. It’s filled with strange creatures, monsters, plagues, and general havoc. It is scary, as it’s meant to be; especially if you’re not a Christian. If you’re still not convinced to be a Christian after reading the other books of the Bible, perhaps Revelation will scare some into belief.

It is the story of the end of the world. The world will not just end in random chaos. It will be chaotic for humans at the time, but there will be an order in which things will happen as told in Revelation.

Revelation is full of symbolism and allegory. I had trouble understand that part of it. Some scholars believe they know what much of the symbolism means. I’ll leave it to them.

Still other parts of are more direct. For instance the description of earthquakes. Revelation is also where we learn about the gates of pearl and streets of gold in heaven.

There are direct commands for all Christians. We are told to be watchful for His return.

Some Christians say works doesn’t matter. That the Lord looks upon the heart.He does. However, in the end as revealed by Revelation, works and being judged by your works is an ongoing theme in my King James Version. Jesus concludes each message to the 7 churches with a word about their works.

Jesus tells of his return and relates it to how we dress, Revelation 16:15

Behold, I come as a thief. Blessed is he that watcheth, and keepeth his garments, lest he walk naked, and they see his shame.

Now there may be symbolism in this. I’ve heard this verse before but never with the last part. Garmets of white as relating to righteousness are mentioned in a few places. However, it could be as simple and plain as a warning against unmodest dress in end times. Every year the fashions get more and more skimpy, tight, and otherwise revealing. God gave Adam and Eve clothes in Genesis to hide their nakedness and shame. I believe this verse is a refrence and reminder of the original purpose of clothing. It was to cover our bodies. We in modern times have changed it to display our bodies. (Surprisingly, many pro-modesty Biblical arguments don’t mention the Revelation verse.)

Overall, I wouldn’t say Revelation is among my favorite Bible books. I’m glad I’ve read it though. I do agree with my dad about reading it before bed giving nightmares. However, there’s also comfort in it for believers. It tells what terrible fates we are saved from. No wonder many Christians call becoming a Christian “being saved”.

2 Responses

  1. John wrote Revelation (Rev 1:1, 4, 9) most likely from the Isle of Patmos.

  2. Dee,
    Of course. I don’t know what I was thinking when I wrote Paul. Thanks for catching that. It’s fixed now.

Leave a Reply

