Planning for ’09-’10 school year

It’s that time of year again. Time to plan and begin ordering for the next school year. This year both kids will be doing school regularly. That will take extra planning and coordination. I have a good idea of what I want to order for most subjects. As usual art is still up in the air.

I just got the information about the upcoming curriculum fairs. I missed the big IDEA one last weekend because I was still out of town so I’ll have to pay shipping from WinterPromise. That leaves the used fair which also has ordering for CLE on the 18th and the Abeka fair on the 11th. I’m not sure if I’ll order anything from Abeka this year or not. I definitely want to order from CLE and see what other goodies I can find at the used fair.

Karen will be doing early kindergarten

CLE Learning to Read

Math-U-See Primer

Dance lessons?

Richard will be doing third grade

CLE reading, Bible, language arts,

Math-U-See Gamma.

For science we’ll be studying human anatomy and biology. He’s had fun with the Real Science 4 Kids so he’ll probably continue with those as well as some in the God’s Plan series.

History will be Winter Promise’s American Story 2.

Literature will be the books that go with the history program.

Health will be Abeka’s Health, Safety, and Manners 3.

Piano lessons?

It should be a fun, exciting school year.

UPDATE 5/11/09

I just got back from the Abeka ordering. I only ordered 3 things: song cd’s for kindergarten and 3rd grade and a 3rd grade health book Richard really liked along with the tests for it. I still really like their programs, I just don’t feel that they are a good fit for us anymore.

Leave a Reply

