Fitness update 2009 #10

This week I’m down to 161.25 at the lowest but we went to lunch yesterday and I’m up to 163 this morning. I’d better do the exercise video again. It’s been a few days since I last used them.

I bought a new swim suit. My old one was too big and falling apart. It is a size 12 TYR that’s dark blue with white flowers down the front. I wore it the first time at water aerobics Wednesday evening. The instructor had me come up on deck and teach part with her (squats). Then after class in the locker room she suggested I get certified as a fitness instructor. Another instructor was there and agreed. Hmmm. Might be fun to look into.

We’re busy getting ready to go on our trip. We leave Tuesday night. This may be the last fitness update until we return at the end of April. I hope I’m able to at least maintain my weight on the cruise. It would be great if I could continue to lose and meet the weight goal this month. As long as I don’t make too many unhealthy eating choices and only eat a reasonable portion size, I should be ok. We plan to exercise everyday not in port and possibly some on those days as well depending upon how much walking we’ve done. I’m not looking forward to airport food for the 2 days it takes to get from Alaska to Rio. Then we have 5 days before the cruise. It’s 12 degrees here now but in the upper 80’s and low 90’s in Rio. We’re going to melt! I’m not sure if we’ll be up to leaving the hotel if it has a good air conditioner.

The to-do list keeps growing while the time is shrinking. The kids need new shoes and some summer clothes. We haven’t yet begun to pack although I have lists made of what we will be packing. I want to go to water aerobics Monday evening but doubt if there will be time. By then I think we’ll be frantic trying to finish all the last minute important items on the to-do list.

3 Responses

  1. That’s awesome you bought a new suit! New smaller clothes is a great measurement of success! Congrats. I love to go on cruises, I’ve been on 4 so far! The last two I actually lost weight. I did what you said, I exercised on the non port days as well as just making good food choices and by asking for something that’s not there. As the waiters or staff for something that is better for you if you don’t see it, especially in the buffet lines. They are more than happy to accomodate you! Have so much fun! My trainer told me about an article that women usually lose weight on vacation. It said the reason was the stress of “dieting” was gone and they were able to relax and just enjoy but made healthy decisions. You know what to eat and what to avoid. You’re going to do great! Keep up the great work. It’s inspiring!

  2. Thanks for your vote of confidence. It’s comforting to know someone who has lost weight on a cruise and that my plan is reasonable. I’ve been on 2 cruises before, my honeymoon and an AK cruise to get to Seattle (believe it or not it was cheaper than a plane ticket) so I know the service is great. My only real concern is airport food and the days in Rio before the cruise. Oh well, I’m sure we can find something reasonable. 3 days left until we leave 🙂

  3. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Alanna

Leave a Reply

