Fitness update 2009 #3

Yeah! I’m down a little this week to 168. I have 2 weeks left to loose the last 1.5 pounds for meeting my weight goal this month. I hope to be able to do that this week so I’m not stressed about missing it the last week. I’d just need to be sure to keep it off then.

I’ve managed to do Slim in 6 three times this week. Considering what a crazy week it’s been, I’m considering that an accomplishment. The other day’s we’ve been dealing with frozen pipes in apartment buildings (and there’s just no way I’m exercising at 330 am after being up all day which is when I finally got home night before last). Then we spent 2 hours at the doctor Thursday afternoon getting shots. We were all pretty sore and wiped out from them yesterday.

We’ve been eating good. A few weeks ago, my husband and I made an agreement where we don’t eat out again until we both have met out goal weights for the month. He already has. We’ve had oatmeal with fruit most mornings. I’ve managed to not eat snacks in the evening. The store finally had lettuce; just the bagged stuff, but at least it’s lettuce, so I’ve been able to have salad as a main part of my dinner.

I need to get out the door. Today they may have the kids dog sledding races although I think it may be too icy. They’ve changed the schedule to every Saturday to try to make up for missed races.

I was right. After looking over the trails, the race was canceled because it was too icy. Hopefully things will improve over the next week or so and we can do it next weekend. This is the second race in a row that’s been canceled. Last time was too cold. They’ve only managed to have one race this season and we missed it because the kids were sick. They did a group photo of the kids with their bibs since we were all there anyway today.

We were asked if the kids wanted to run 1 dog just to exercise the dog. We did. Richard went around the loop twice by himself. He fell on the same corner both times and one other place once. It was just too icy. Karen went next. She stayed on but the man who owns the dog held the dog the entire time so he would go slow. He says he has another slower dog for her to use next time because this one is a bit too fast for her. They both had fun so it wasn’t a total waste of time.

Running with the kids and dogs this afternoon made me realize I really need to work on running endurance. I need to be able to get to the kids quickly if they get in trouble. Of course the ice didn’t help anything today. Perhaps, I’ll try to do some treadmill work this coming week.

2 Responses

  1. Wow, sounds like you’re doing great and well on your way to meeting your goals! Your life is certainly a bit different than mine here in San Diego where the weather has been in the low 80’s already! But the one thing in common is the way to a healthier lifestyle.

  2. 3 days ago it was -45F. Today was 35 above. It’s supposed to go back to around zero by Wednesday. I’m not sure I’d like not having a real winter.

Leave a Reply

