Kindergarten math readiness

This afternoon I dug out the Math-U-See Primer video I use for kindergarten math. I was trying to decide if my daughter may be ready for kindergarten in the fall or if she needs to wait. I think she will be ready for reading but wasn’t sure about math.

She sat in my lap while we watched the first 10 lessons. Steve Demme sure makes it engaging for the kids. I had wooden blocks and we sorted and counted them by shape for the shape lessons. She understood most of it since it was counting (she’s been watching Winnie the Pooh 123’s all week). After we watched them she wanted to get the math blocks and start the books (after her nap đŸ˜† ).

Richard observed that “She has the same math teacher as me, neat!” For him this was a fun review with lots of “I remember that”. Unfortunately, he quickly tried to add on more complexity than she could handle and wound up confusing her instead of helping. I can tell I will need to have him busy while helping her to keep them from distracting each other.

After watching these lessons together and asking her a few questions, I think she will be ready to do this in the fall. I e-mailed the homeschool program and they have restarted the $200 pre-k allotment which would allow me to get her own set of blocks and the Primer workbook as well as whatever non-CLE reading or other materials we may need. Watch out kindergarten, here comes Karen!

Here’s what kindergarten curriculum I plan to use for her:

Math: Math-U-See Primer & starter blocks $45

Reading: Christian Light Education Learning to Read $85

Writing: Abeka either ABC Writing Tablet $9.50 or K5 Writing with Phonics $10

That should keep us busy. We will add in extras like learning videos, library trips, and read alouds depending upon her her interests. She will probably also do some of her brother’s history projects.

Leave a Reply

