New thoughts on Halloween

After reading more about the subject by both sides, pondering Bible verses, and of course prayer, I’ve decided Halloween is still evil although modern consumerism and Sunday-only Christianity tries to tell us differently. How can pretending to be the devil, ghouls, dead of all other kinds NOT be evil? How can excessive revelry (and often drunkenness) when we are told to be sober be fine?

Let me examine briefly what the Bible has to say about three common reasons (justifications) Christians and most non-Christians give for participating in Halloween’s “harmless fun”.

1. No one gets hurt.

Murder and violent crimes spike during Halloween. Even if you may not be physically hurt, but your soul is in danger. “Envyings, murders, DRUNKENNESS, REVELINGS, and such like: of the which I tell you before, as I have also told you in time past, that they which do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God.” [emphasis mine] Galatians 5:21 “Take heed to yourselves, that your heart be not deceived, and ye turn aside, and serve other gods, and worship them” Deuteronomy 11:16.

Also, it is often filled with over-indulgence of alcohol. As with most holidays, drunk driving accidents and related deaths also spike. “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit;” Ephesians 5:17-19 “Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world” Titus 2:12

2. But it’s just a silly costume! It’s pretend.

” Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you.” 2 Corinthians 6:17 [emphasis mine]

Why put your eternal reward for an otherwise good life at risk for one (or two) nights of fun? “Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.” James 4:16-17 “We know that whosoever is born of God sinneth not; but he that is begotten of God keepeth himself, and that wicked one toucheth him not.” 1 John 5:17-19

3. It’s just a party. All my friends will be there.

I’m not against all parties or holidays. I just think Halloween is a poor reason to celebrate. Why celebrate evil? Why celebrate the (un)dead? Why have a holiday for Satan? This holiday is traditionally celebrated at night for a reason.

“Then Jesus said unto them, Yet a little while is the light with you. Walk while ye have the light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth.” John 12:34-36 “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?” 2 Corinthians 6:14.

Some have hinted that is is almost child abuse to not celebrate Halloween. That’s silly. No one has ever been hurt by not participating in Halloween (except those that would have been anyway such as victims of drunk driving). However, I have given several reasons we could be hurt if we DO celebrate Halloween.

There are many more verses that warn of the dangers of associating with evil and sin. I can find no verse that says it’s ok if it is fun and everyone else is doing it. Don’t be deceived or misled. Halloween is not harmless fun.

3 Responses

  1. Those are some interesting thoughts. I’m going to give you my brief responses to these points as to why I’m still totally cool with having a costume party this Friday [smile]. This is my side, but if you don’t feel good about participating, please keep with your convictions. That is very, very important.

    1. No one gets hurt.
    a. “Murder and violent crimes spike during Halloween.” That may be true, so what better way to protect my friends and family than to have them hang out together at my house. [smile]
    b. “As with most holidays, drunk driving accidents and related deaths also spike.” I don’t like alcohol, so we’ll be good at my party. …and by extension, this argument would suggest that we shouldn’t celebrate Christmas, Thanksgiving, or Easter either.

    2. But it’s just a silly costume! It’s pretend.
    I’m going to agree with you here: It’s not cool to dress up in some costumes. But for my friends and I, the opportunity to practice creativity and dress up as firemen and literary characters has always been a blast.

    3. It’s just a party. (My excuse [smile])
    “Why celebrate evil? Why celebrate the (un)dead? Why have a holiday for Satan?”
    I do not feel like I have ever celebrated evil, the undead, or Satan in my festivities on this night. For those who feel like they do, I completely agree that they should probably refrain. I celebrate our God-given creativity, the fact that God has blessed us with so much stuff we can even eat junk food, and in the back of my mind I’m grateful for Christ’s victory over evil.

    My two cents.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    ~Luke

  2. Hi again Luke,
    It’s not a huge issue to me, just thought some might appreciate more Biblical responses as to why we don’t do Halloween. We don’t drink anyway so that’s not a factor in any holiday celebration decisions. I don’t mind costumes and costume parties. I just think Halloween (and Mardi Gras for many similar reasons) is a bad excuse for one. I”m glad you will be keeping yours positive. Have fun and be safe this weekend.

Leave a Reply

