Just as I am

When I was in Virginia, I went to revival/tent meetings held by the Mennonites in the area. One thing that left a very great impression was at the end of the meeting, they sang a song called, Just As I Am while inviting people to receive Jesus as savior. It was very fitting and beautiful. At one meeting, I had tears in my eyes from it. As I said in another post, all the singing is done without any instrumental accompaniment. It didn’t matter if you were a great singer or just barely croaking it out. No one was critical, the important thing was voicing your praise in song. With about 300 people in the tent, it was like being in a giant choir.

I found the words to Just As I Am today. It is a very encouraging and comforting song, reminding us that we need not be perfect to come to Jesus. He wants us Just as I am. Here they are:

Verse1: Just as I am, without one plea, But that Thy blood was shed for me, And that Thou bidd’st me come to Thee, O lamb of God, I come! I come!

Verse2: Just as I am, and waiting not, To rid my soul of one dark blot. To Thee, whose blood can clense each spot, O lamb of God, I come! I come!

Verse3: Just as I am, tho’ tossed about With many a conflict, many a doubt, With fears within, and foes without, O lamb of God, I come! I come!

Verse4: Just as I am, Thou wilt receive, Wilt welcome, pardon, clense, relieve; Because Thy promise I believe, O lamb of God, I come! I come!

So are you ready to come Just as you are? I hope so. Bring your doubts, fears, conflicts, and sin to him. He’ll take it from there.

Leave a Reply

