Daily Bible reading

How often do you read your Bible? Once a month? Once a week? Or once a day? Are you an infrequent reader or is it a regular part of your routine? Can you manage to get in more time reading the Good Book?

A good reference showing the importance of keeping true to Biblical teaching and principles today is 2 Timothy. We can’t withstand the pull of the world if we aren’t rooted in the Bible. Daily Bible reading is the nourishment for our stand. “Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamend, rightly dividing the word of truth. Let every one that nameth the name of Christ depart from iniquity” 2 Timothy 2:15,19 (KJV)

God gave us the Bible to show us how to live. “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17 (KJV)

One thing that isn’t mentioned in these verses is for inspiration. However today many see the Bible only as a spiritual pick-me-up. There are many little books with daily inspirational messages linked to a short verse. I myself have often read them. However, I don’t limit my Bible reading to just that. While this is important, it shouldn’t be our only reason for reading the Bible. If you do, you will miss much of the story and meat of the Bible. I often find myself wondering, how that verse links into the rest of the story and so will read the passages around it.

Our pastor last winter gave a class on Bible study methods. He implored us to pray with a pencil. This means keeping a notebook or journal and pencil handy when reading the Bible. Even if you aren’t specifically studying a passage, you may find something that resonates with you or you may want to jot down a quick note about what you are reading. I have found this greatly improved the quality of my Bible reading time. I don’t know if I will even return to my notes, but just the act of writing has helped me to better remember the passages.

Right now I am working on reading the Bible from cover to cover. I read half or one hour before bed. I admit to skimming over some of the more tedious sections, especially the long lists of names or descriptions of items (especially in the Old Testament). I don’t think it is vital I know exactly what size some of the temple furnishings were.

It doesn’t matter when you read. Some like to read in the morning before their day gets busy. Others prefer in the evening to help calm down after a full day. No matter when you choose to read, I would give yourself at least half an hour for reading. This allows you time to explore the passage.

If you can make it a family reading time that may help kids to understand and develop enjoyment of reading their Bible. Show by example that reading the Bible is a priority to your family. Young kids can have story Bibles until they are able to understand the rich text of the KJV. I gave my son his first KJV after finishing first grade last month. “And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.” 2 Timothy 3:15 (KJV)

So again I ask you, how’s your Bible reading going? Is it just a daily chore or something you look forward to? Do you pray with a pencil? Do you encourage your children and others to also read the Bible? “They received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so. Therefore many of them believed” Acts 17:11, 12 (KJV) After all, how can you call yourself a Christian if you’ve not read the Bible to become familiar with its teachings?

5 Responses

  1. [link back to this post]

  2. Hello! Thank you for your comment over at my blog. Sorry I just now discovered it! I’m not on there as much as I could be :). How did you happen to discover my blog seeing as how you are on wordpress? Just a curiosity; I’m glad you stopped by. I will tell you what I love about Christian Light Education, since you asked. It’s thorough and sweet. The books aren’t fancy, but they present the information and there’s nothing worldly about them. Since they are created by Anabaptist, they always use God inspired stories or examples that are “pure” if that makes sense. For example, “Billy and Susie helped mother pick beans in the garden. If Billy picked 5 buckets and Susie picked 4 more than Billy, how many buckets of beans did Susie pick?” The example reinforces the way God intends us to live — to work hard, to help each other, honor your mother, etc. It seems trivial to some people who just want to get through math or whatever subject, but to me it makes a huge difference. And, the subjects are presented well. They aren’t confusing, that I’ve found. So, in a nutshell, that’s why we love Christian Light Education. It’s not the only thing we use, but for the reading, writing, arithmetic, it’s very good. The bible study was good too, but I decided to go with something called “Walking With Jesus” through the Foundation for American Christian Education (F.A.C.E.). It’s geared at a 4th grade level, but challenged me on some things. Good stuff! I’m not sure what I’m going to use this year.

    I’m glad I found your blog — thanks to your comment! I’m going to be reading much more of your postings. I love reading lately about what people have to say about the KJV — those who love it and why. I will say that because of Christian Light Education, my son loves the KJV. We use NIV at our church — people can use what they want actually, but in Sunday School the children use NIV. Honestly, I love the KJV, but I have a hard time with it. I will usually read the NIV and KJV at the same time and compare the two. NIV is by far easier to read, but I don’t want to miss any of the true meaning that KJV gives. I have not gotten to read all of your posts yet about KJV, but I look forward to it. I discovered Candy’s blog at http://www.keepingthehome.com (I think that’s correct) and she wrote about the KJV and explained a few things about what some of the words meant and I loved it! Like thee and thy, etc. As simple as it may seem, those can be overwhelming when you don’t know the difference or what the passage is saying. I guess what’s most important is that the Bible is being read at all! 🙂

  3. Hi Jennifer,
    I found your blog by Google CLE language arts or something like that. I wanted to find comments by others who have used it. Thanks for writing me back. Glad you’re enjoying my blog. I’ll check out Candy’s blog when I get a chance, it sounds interesting.

    We have NIV for Bibles to borrow at church but most people bring their own, whichever version they prefer. Preaching is from different versions too depending who is giving the sermon that week. We’re getting a new permanent pastor in a few weeks and I’m curious what he will prefer. Our temporary pastor for the past year often used the KJV with added emphasis from others. He was real sharp. I wish he could have stayed. He left this spring.

    I wish I could tell you what we think of the CLE reading/language but we’re still waiting on the order. I need to call tomorrow to find out what’s going on. We did like their Bible and Social Studies for first grade last year.

  4. I usually read my Bible in the evenings, perhaps a chapter or more. I just finished the book of Esther this evening. I can’t say as I ever remember reading the book, though I’ve heard the story of Esther before.

    I want to start reading my Bible in the mornings as well, but I just can’t seem to get up early enough to give myself enough time to read!

    I will consider what you said about having a notebook and pencil handy. I’ve never thought of jotting down notes.

    ~ Lacy

  5. […] Posted on August 31, 2008 by akhomeschoolfun Alas, I have to repent. Back in July, I wrote a post about daily Bible reading. I was very excited and intense about my readings. However, since then life has seemed to have […]

Leave a Reply

