A Child’s Garden of Verses

I ordered a 4 books from Barnes and Noble yesterday to use for second grade. I also bought A Child’s Garden Of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson. I’m doubtful about poetry books for young kids. Most seem contrived and forced or overly simplified. My friend has recommended this book many times to me and hers is often out at their house. A large hardcover version was on sale for half off and then additional 25% off for school use so I decided to buy it too. We read some before dinner then again before bed. We all love it. The poems are whimsical. The artwork is fanciful. The language is flowing yet challenging. I can now understand why she said such good things about it. My six year old enjoyed reading it to his 3 year old sister. If you only buy one poetry book for young kids, it should be this one.

Leave a Reply

