homemade frosting made easy

I have been trying to cut out as many processed foods as possible in our quest for healthy simple living. So far, we’ve been pretty successful. However, I hadn’t thought about all the one-time things like cake and frosting. Well, the store didn’t have lemon frosting and I didn’t want to buy vanilla so I decided to make homemade. It took me awhile to find a recipe that didn’t require cooking or corn syrup. Once I did, it was very easy to make.

If you try this recipe, please leave me a comment on this page and let me know how it turned out for you. Happy baking! Here’s the recipe:

BASIC FROSTING

3 cups powdered sugar

3/4 stick butter (softened)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 T milk

3 T milk

stir butter and powdered sugar together. Add other liquids and mix with fork until thick and all powdered sugar is dissolved. Makes about the same as one pre-made frosting tub.

VARIATIONS:

lemon: use lemon juice instead of 3 T milk

chocolate: decrease powdered sugar to 2 1/2 cups, add 3 T cocoa, use milk for liquid

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING: I mixed this with a fork. It was thick to mix and had very small cream cheese bits when finished. Very creamy and yummy, not too sweet.

8oz cream cheese (softened)

1/4 cup butter (softened)

1 tsp vanilla

1 c powdered sugar

These recipes have no hydrogenated oil, no artificial sweetener or flavors (if you use real vanilla), no corn syrup, and no preservatives or other additives. I will be making homemade frosting from now on since I know how easy it is. I used to stir my frosting tubs before using them anyway so it doesn’t take any extra time to make homemade. My family liked the homemade frosting much better. They could tell the difference.

In the future, I guess I’d better pay better attention to the extras like frosting too. It was cheaper than pre-made store bought. I can get several cakes out of one bag of powdered sugar and I have butter left over to make cookies. These are easy forgiving recipe so I don’t have to worry if my kids want to help or make it by themselves.

2 Responses

  1. [The following comment may be spam but I thought it was interesting so I allowed it. What this has to do with frosting, I don’t know.
    -AHF]

    I thought your families that homeschool would enjoy an educational indoor gardening adventure, growing the TickleMe Plant (Mimosa pudica). This activity was featured recently by the National Gardening Associations Kids Store, http://www.kidsgardeningstore.com/14-1030.html
    If you want to give your homeschoolers an experience they will never forget, consider having them grow a TickleMe Plant. This is the plant that will close its leaves and lower its branches when you tickle it. They sprout in days and can be grown indoors any time of year. Just Google TickleMe Plants or go to http://www.TickleMePlant.com for seeds and growing kits. The TickleMe Plant will encourage your child’s interest in plants and respect for nature.
    Happy Growing,
    Mark

  2. Занимаюсь дизайном и хочу попросить автора akhomeschoolfun.wordpress.com отправить шаьлончик на мой мыил) Готов заплатить…

Leave a Reply

